Hugo Award Nominees Announced!

Hugo Award Nominees Announced!

Saturday, Mar 30, 2024

Best Novel (1,420 ballots cast for 576 nominees.)

  • The Adventures of Amina al-Sirafi, Shannon Chakraborty (Harper Voyager; Harper Voyager UK)
  • The Saint of Bright Doors, Vajra Chandrasekera (Tordotcom)
  • Translation State, Ann Leckie (Orbit US; Orbit UK)
  • Starter Villain, John Scalzi (Tor US; Tor UK)
  • Some Desperate Glory, Emily Tesh (Tordotcom; Orbit UK)
  • Witch King, Martha Wells (Tordotcom)

Best Novella (962 ballots cast for 187 nominees.)

  • Seeds of Mercury, Wang Jinkang / 水星播种, 王晋康, translated by Alex Woodend (Adventures in Space: New Short stories by Chinese & English Science Fiction Writers)
  • Thornhedge, T. Kingfisher (Tor; Titan UK)
  • Rose/House, Arkady Martine (Subterranean)
  • The Mimicking of Known Successes, Malka Older (Tordotcom)
  • Mammoths at the Gates, Nghi Vo (Tordotcom)
  • Life Does Not Allow Us to Meet, He Xi / 人生不相, 何夕,translated by Alex Woodend (Adventures in Space: New Short stories by Chinese & English Science Fiction Writers)

Best Novelette (755 ballots cast for 212 nominees.)

  • I AM AI, Ai Jiang (Shortwave)
  • The Year Without Sunshine, Naomi Kritzer (Uncanny 11-12/23)
  • One Man’s Treasure, Sarah Pinsker (Uncanny 1-2/23)
  • Ivy, Angelica, Bay, C.L. Polk ( 12/8/23)
  • Introduction to 2181 Overture, Second Edition, Gu Shi /〈2181序曲〉再版, 顾适, translated by Emily Jen (Clarkesworld 2/23)
  • “On the Fox Roads”, Nghi Vo ( 10/31/23)

Best Short Story (720 ballots cast for 612 nominees.

  • 美食三品, 宝树 / Tasting the Future Delicacy Three Times, Baoshu (银河边缘013:黑域密室 Galaxy’s Edge Vol. 13: Secret Room in the Black Domain)
  • How to Raise a Kraken in Your Bathtub, P. Djèlí Clark (Uncanny 1-2/23)
  • The Mausoleum’s Children, Aliette de Bodard (Uncanny 5-6/23)
  • The Sound of Children Screaming, Rachael K. Jones (Nightmare 10/23)
  • Better Living Through Algorithms, Naomi Kritzer (Clarkesworld 5/23)
  • Answerless Journey, Han Song / 没有答案的航程, 韩松, translated by Alex Woodend (Adventures in Space: New Short stories by Chinese & English Science Fiction Writers)

Best Series (677 ballots cast for 228 nominees.)

  • The Universe of Xuya, Aliette de Bodard (Gollancz; JABberwocky Literary Agency; Subterranean; Uncanny; et al.)
  • Imperial Radch, Ann Leckie (Orbit US; Orbit UK)
  • The Last Binding, Freya Marske (Tordotcom; Tor UK)
  • October Daye, Seanan McGuire (DAW)
  • The Laundry Files, Charles Stross (Tordotcom; Orbit UK)
  • The Final Architecture, Adrian Tchaikovsky (Tor UK; Orbit US)

Best Graphic Story or Comic (457 ballots cast for 256 nominees.)

  • Bea Wolf
  • Saga, Volume 11
  • Shubeik Lubeik; as Your Wish Is My Command 
  • 三体漫画:第一部 / The Three Body Problem, Part One
  • The Witches of World War 2
  • Wonder Woman Historia: The Amazons

Best Related Work (775 ballots cast for 246 nominees.)

  • The Culture: The Drawings, Iain M. Banks (Orbit)
  • 中国科幻口述史, 第二卷, 第三卷, 杨枫 / Chinese Science Fiction: An Oral History, Volumes 2 and 3, Yang Feng, ed. (8-Light Minutes Culture; Chengdu Time Press)
  • All These Worlds, Niall Harrison (Briardene)
  • A Traveller in Time: The Critical Practice of Maureen Kincaid Speller, Maureen Kincaid Speller, edited by Nina Allan (Academia Lunare)
  • A City on Mars, Kelly Weinersmith & Zach Weinersmith (Penguin Press; Particular Books)
  • 雨果X访谈, 王雅婷 / Discover X, interviews presented by Tina Wong

Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form (763 ballots cast for 189 nominees.)

  • Barbie
  • Dungeons & Dragons: Honor Among Thieves
  • Nimona
  • Poor Things
  • Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse
  • 流浪地球2 / The Wandering Earth II

Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form (490 ballots cast for 318 nominees.)

  • Doctor Who: The Giggle”
  • Doctor Who: Wild Blue Yonder”
  • The Last of Us: “Long, Long Time”
  • Loki: “Glorious Purpose
  • Star Trek: Strange New Worlds: Subspace Rhapsody”
  • Star Trek: Strange New Worlds: “Those Old Scientists”

Best Game or Interactive Work (334 ballots cast for 165 nominees.)

  • Alan Wake 2  
  • Baldur’s Gate 3 
  • Chants of Sennaar
  • The Legend of Zelda: Tears of the Kingdom
  • Star Wars Jedi: Survivor 

Best Editor, Short Form (530 ballots cast for 179 nominees.)

  • Scott H. Andrews 
  • Neil Clarke 
  • 杨枫  / Yang Feng 
  • Jonathan Strahan  
  • Lynne M. Thomas & Michael Damian Thomas 
  • 刘维佳 / Liu Weijia 

Best Editor, Long Form (254 ballots cast for 103 nominees.)

  • Ruoxi Chen 
  • 姚海军 / Yao Haijun
  • Lindsey Hall 
  • Lee Harris 
  • Kelly Lonesome
  • David Thomas Moore 

Best Professional Artist (270 ballots cast for 219 nominees.)

  • Micaela Alcaino 
  • Rovina Cai 
  • Galen Dara 
  • Dan Dos Santos 
  • Tristan Elwell 
  • Alyssa Winans 

Best Semiprozine (338 ballots cast for 82 nominees.)

  • Escape Pod  
  • FIYAH Literary Magazine 
  • GigaNotoSaurus 
  • khōréō 
  • Strange Horizons  
  • Uncanny  

Best Fanzine (286 ballots cast for 80 nominees.)

  • Black Nerd Problems 
  • The Full Lid 
  • Idea 
  • Journey Planet  
  • Nerds of a Feather, Flock Together  
  • Unofficial Hugo Book Club Blog 

Best Fancast (693 ballots cast for 230 nominees.)

  • The Coode Street Podcast 
  • Hugos There 
  • Octothorpe  
  • Publishing Rodeo
  • 科幻Fans布玛 / Science Fiction Fans Buma
  • Worldbuilding for Masochists 

Best Fan Writer (363 ballots cast for 134 nominees.)

  • Bitter Karella 
  • James Davis Nicoll 
  • Jason Sanford 
  • Alasdair Stuart 
  • Paul Weimer 
  • Örjan Westin 

Best Fan Artist (180 ballots cast for 96 nominees.)

  • Iain J. Clark 
  • Sara Felix 
  • Dante Luiz 
  • Laya Rose 
  • Alison Scott 
  • España Sheriff 

Lodestar Award for Best Young Adult Book [Not a Hugo Award] (345 ballots cast for 178 nominees.)

  • Promises Stronger than Darkness, Charlie Jane Anders (Tor Teen) 
  • To Shape a Dragon’s Breath, Moniquill Blackgoose (Del Rey)
  • Abeni’s Song, P. Djèlí Clark (Starscape) 
  • Unraveller, Frances Hardinge (Macmillan) 
  • Liberty’s Daughter, Naomi Kritzer (Fairwood) 
  • The Sinister Booksellers of Bath, Garth Nix (Katherine Tegen Books; Gollancz; Allen & Unwin) 

Astounding Award for Best New Writer [Not a Hugo Award] (349 ballots cast for 167 nominees.)

  • Moniquill Blackgoose  
  • Sunyi Dean*  
  • Ai Jiang*  
  • Hannah Kaner  
  • Em X. Liu  
  • Xiran Jay Zhao**  

*Finalist in their 2nd year of eligibility.

** Zhao’s eligibility was extended at the request of Astounding Award sponsor Dell Magazines

The following nominees received enough votes to qualify for the final ballot, but declined nomination. 

  • Best Novel: System Collapse, Martha Wells
  • Best Novelette: 极北之地, 海漄 / “The Far North”, Hai Ya
  • Best Related Work: Bigolas Dickolas Wolfwood’s promotional tweets for This Is How You Lose the Time War
  • Best Editor, Long Form: Natasha Bardon
  • Best Fan Writer: Camestros Felapton

The following nominees received enough votes to qualify for the final ballot, but were not eligible for specific reasons.  

  • Best Novel: 天帆  江波 / Cosmo Wings, Jiang Bo — publication in 2024.
  • Best Fancast: 雨果X访谈, 王雅婷 / Discover X, interviews presented by Tina Wong — professional production — also qualified in the Best Related Work category.
  • Best Fancast: 铥铥科幻电波 / Diu Diu Sci Fi Radio — also a professional production.