Orpheus on the Underground. Rhys Hughes.
Orpheus on the Underground

Orpheus on the Underground

Tartarus Press:
Leyburn: 2014
First edition, Hardcover, Limited, New in dust jacket,
212 pp.
Cover artwork by: Chris Harrendence

Beautiful book. Beautiful stories. Just beautiful. This edition limited to 300 copies. “Orpheus on the Underground is the new Rhys Hughes collection from Tartarus Press, containing fifteen previously unpublished stories and ‘The Concise Picaresque Adventures of the Wanderlust Bridge’, which first appeared in Strange Tales II, 2008. Ranging from the ghostly, through horror to the entirely fantastic, Hughes’ marvellously inventive tales steer the reader through the bizarre labyrinths of his unique talent for the strange. In ‘The Upper Reaches’, two pilots discover a world beyond their mission, while the eponymous hero of Orpheus on the Underground attempts to fit classical myth into the transport system of a modern metropolis. ‘Behind Every Ghost’ takes a conventional aphorism to its illogical limit, while ‘The Phantom Festival’ explores the history of music on various levels. In the ‘The Quixote Candidate’, a would-be film director is persuaded to give what may turn out to be an overly comprehensive interview.” #54951

Price: $50.00

See all items in Horror
See all items by